Home Home Locations
Texas sports medicine and orthopaedic group

TAREK O. SOURYAL, M.D.CCLarry O'Brien Trophy

ASSISTANT CLINICAL PROFESSOR, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
DIPLOMATE, American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery
FELLOW, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons

Dr. Tarek O. Souryal is a leading orthopaedic surgeon in the field of sports medicine. He was the Head Team Physician for the Dallas Mavericks for 22 seasons. He served as two term President of the NBA Team Physician Association. He also served as the head physician for the Dallas Texans of the Arena Football League, the Dallas Burn of MLS, the Dallas Freeze of the Central Hockey League and Wilmer-Hutchins High School.

Dr. Souryal is the Medical Director at Texas Sports Medicine and former director of the Sports Injury Clinic at S.M.U. Dr. Souryal is known internationally for his work on anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) injuries and ACL Surgery. He is married and has three children.

Patient Education for ACL Injuries, ACL Tear and ACL Surgery
Question and Answer article on ACL Injuries from ESPN "Training Room"
Emedicine article on ACL Injuries

E-mail Dr. Souryal
(Email Policy)
Curriculum Vitae
Texas Sports Medicine and Orthopaedic Group Home Page
American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Website Orthopaedic information you can trust
Google Scholar Search
US News & World Report, Top Doctors
NBC5 Video: "ACL Injuries in Kids on the Rise"
Star-Telegram Article: How Safe are Football Players at Fort Worth's Tiny Magnet School?

Medical Education
Medical Education: University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio
Internship: Parkland Hospital, Dallas
Orthopaedic Surgery: UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
Fellowship: Hughston Sports Medicine Clinic, Columbus, GA

List of published articles

American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
Texas Society for Sports Medicine (past President)
American College of Sports Medicine
National Athletic Trainers Association
Hughston Society
NBA Team Physicians Association-Chairman, ethics committee
Texas Medical Association
Texas Orthopaedic Association
Professional Team Physicians Association